BOROUGH OF RUSHMOOR

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE BOROUGH COUNCIL held at the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Farnborough on Thursday, 5th December, 2024 at 6.00 pm.

The Worshipful The Mayor (Cllr Mara Makunura (Chairman)) The Deputy Mayor (Cllr Calum Stewart (Vice-Chairman))

Cllr Abe Allen Cllr C.W. Card Cllr Sue Carter Cllr Jules Crossley Cllr Thomas Day Cllr Peace Essien Igodifo Cllr C.P. Grattan Cllr Christine Guinness Cllr G.B. Lyon Cllr M.J. Roberts Cllr M.J. Roberts Cllr M.D. Smith Cllr P.G. Taylor Cllr Jacqui Vosper

Cllr Gaynor Austin Cllr Leola Card Cllr A.H. Crawford Cllr P.J. Cullum Cllr Keith Dibble Cllr A.H. Gani Cllr Lisa Greenway Cllr Steve Harden Cllr Sophie Porter Cllr Dhan Sarki Cllr Sarah Spall Cllr M.J. Tennant Cllr Gareth Williams

Honorary Alderman Terry Bridgeman Honorary Alderman Tony Gardiner Honorary Alderman John Marsh

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Cllr A. Adeola, Cllr Julie Hall, Cllr Rhian Jones, Cllr Halleh Koohestani, Cllr Nadia Martin, Cllr S.J. Masterson, Cllr T.W. Mitchell, Cllr Bill O'Donovan, Cllr S. Trussler, Cllr Ivan Whitmee and Cllr Becky Williams.

27. CENTENARY OF THE MAYORAL MACE AND MAYORS REGALIA

The Mayor welcomed guests from the local Freemason organisation who joined the meeting to mark the centenary anniversary of the donation of the Mayoral Mace and Mayors Regalia. The Mace had been presented to the Borough of Aldershot by the Freemasons of Aldershot in November 1924.

28. ELECTION OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

It was MOVED by Cllr Sue Carter, SECONDED by Cllr Keith Dibble – That, pursuant to the provisions of Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Rushmoor be conferred upon **DIANE BEVERLEY BEDFORD** in recognition of the eminent and long service rendered by her to Rushmoor Borough Council for 22 years and as Mayor of Rushmoor in 2014 to 2015.

The Motion was put to the Meeting and was **DECLARED CARRIED** unanimously.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Diane Bedford with a framed copy of the Resolution conferring the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Rushmoor and a Badge of Office.

Honorary Alderman Diane Bedford addressed the Council and thanked Members for the honour that had been bestowed upon her and the pride she would take in wearing her Badge of Office.

The meeting closed at 6.30 pm.
